The loss of connection.

I’ve been camping around the Scottish Highlands for the past week. After exams finished I needed to get away and seek adventure. The towns are small and quaint but the views are breathtaking.

I realised this week that the loss of my mobile was more of a relief than a hindrance. To get back to the old art of map reading and getting lost has been bliss. The wall that sheltered me from the continuous world of text, email and phone calls was something I craved – the solitude was bliss.

And now I am back in Glasgow, I can not deny that the week spent in the Highlands was less tedious than the time I have spent writing this post on my laptop. Sat on my bed in my empty student room surrounded by nothing but blank walls, full suitcases and bags, all suggesting I will be leaving soon, and together allude a sight more lonesome. There is a feeling of loss; of change, and most importantly of going home.

I can’t wait to be reunited with family and friends, to enjoy the benefits of a full fridge and to unwind in a luxurious bath instead of a tiny airport cubicle of a shower I have cramped myself in to for the past year. First year of university is over and with it comes excitement for summer. So let it begin.

 

4 thoughts on “The loss of connection.

    1. Thank-you very much for your kind words. I like your blog too, very personal tone which I adore especially the end footnotes added to every post – great way to share body confidence!

      Like

Leave a Reply

